Maybe Destiny is for Real

I’ll keep this short.

This evening, I had a vegetable puff and a milkshake at a bakery near my workplace. It cost 32 rupees; well as it happens sometimes, I did not have enough change, nor did the seller. I was short of a rupee and we both agreed that we’ll make adjustments the next time* I go there.

(*) – Euphemism for “Let’s forget about this change, shall we?” 

Well, I do actually frequent that place, so I thought I’d really make up for it the next time I go there. Thinking thus I went next to the MTS recharge place where I had to top-up my Data card for the month. It costs Rs. 399/- per month. I handed the sales person 400 bucks and boom! He said to me, what I had said 10 minutes earlier to the bakery guy: “I don’t have one rupee. Let’s make adjustments the next time you come”. I couldn’t argue.

Now this may not be anything out of the ordinary or perhaps it happens once too often to some. Now that I write about it, I recall another similar incident that happened a long time ago. If you think this post is a rant about money, you are missing the point.

What I want to convey is, I realised that these sort of incidents prove this saying right: “There is no free lunch”. There is a price tag attached to everything in life. I did not enjoy the veg puff and the milkshake at one rupee less; I paid for it by not receiving my one rupee at the MTS data recharge place. Like my brother once mentioned, if you have had a free meal today, someone paid for it somewhere; you just don’t know.  Also, this is not just in terms of money; this perhaps holds good for actions, which some perhaps call “karma”. I think that conveys enough, so I’ll stop here.

This also set me thinking about destiny. Everything happens for a reason.

Now this is one of those sayings that need to be rewritten:

“Everything, which happens beyond your control, happens for a reason”.

If you make something happen (or not happen) out of your own shortcomings or mistakes, then you cannot put the blame on destiny. Here you are at fault. I have experienced this, too; I have screwed up due to my own mistakes, but that is for later. Point is, when some things happen that are beyond your powers to control, perhaps destiny has a way to take care of them.

Like how my one rupee took care of itself.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Maybe Destiny is for Real

  1. splitspeak says:

    Interesting. I liked the quote “Everything, which happens beyond your control, happens for a reason”.

    Love, Mehak

    Like

  2. Vaagdevi Ravishankar says:

    Thank you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

