The End

When the last rays of hope vanish
And there’s darkness around you and within
You close your eyes to find the light
That you were too blind to see back then

When the final nail in the coffin is hit
With the same hands that held you tight
Isn’t it but good old Fate
Making darn sure that you repaid?

And Repay it is that you will
As you lie alone and still
Soul lost, heart frozen
But memory – just fine

Until someday a new ray of hope
Throws your coffin open
And for once you won’t greet it
With a gentle Goodbye Kiss

Tagged

4 thoughts on “The End

  1. Anita Kumar says:

    When I saw the title of this poem in my inbox, I panicked for a moment. Was this the end of your blog, I wondered. Luckily it’s not.
    Do you mind telling me what you really mean by “repaying” and does the “coffin open”? Well, you could choose not to tell me and let the reader interpret it in his or her own manner. Still, I thought I’d try and read what you may wish to share with me.

    Like

    • Vaagdevi Ravishankar says:

      Haha, no this is not the end of the blog. On the contrary, I think I am going to be writing more:D Thanks for commenting.:)

      I’ll just say that by “repay” I mean repaying for mistakes. And by “coffin open” I mean something like “new hope”, “to be reborn/rescued”. If you think this was obvious and you were referring to details of what made me write this way, I am afraid I’ll save it:) Not terribly important. If the idea of “repaying” and “coffin” comes through clearly, that’s good enough. That’s all I attempted to convey.

      But I am so moved that someone has taken the efforts to analyse what I have written. I did not even begin writing poems until recently, so this is new for me. I find that poetry is a form that lets me express myself in a way that no other form can. And it’s not terribly important for me to be understood – just that I am able to express myself so fully seems good enough for me. I see this as a vent mostly, and don’t always feel the need to be very clear. So I don’t blame you for not being able to comprehend what exactly I meant. I don’t expect you to. But I am thrilled by the fact that you enjoy trying to.

      Thank you again:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

